UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (13) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Next Thread
Author: MichNich10 Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 50183  
Subject: $0 Commission / Merrill Edge / True? Date: 12/11/2012 3:39 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 1
All,

First time poster here so take it easy on me :) I am in search of an on-line discount broker however looking for the cheapest commissions and fees. I have done some research and come across Merrill Edge offering 30 trades per month for $0 commissions and no annual fee. I am somewhat new to the online discount brokers and my question is, Is this to good to be true? I tried calling customer support with Merrill however on hold for 14 min's. I have read and re-read the fine print and from what I take from it you just have to have $25,000 min cash balance to qualify. Has anyone else had any experiences with Merrill or another discount brokerage with similar offers? Thanks for any feedback or help! Link to Merrill Edge below.

http://offers.merrilledge.com/landing-pricing/?src_cd=SDPS1&...

Greatly appreciated.

Mike
Print the post Back To Top
Author: Gordogato Big red star, 1000 posts Old School Fool Ticker Guide Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 50040 of 50183
Subject: Re: $0 Commission / Merrill Edge / True? Date: 12/11/2012 4:13 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 3
The only catch is that you have to keep the $25,000 in cash deposit accounts with Bank of America or in your brokerage cash sweep account (read the fine print, footnote 1, at the bottom of the page you linked to). That $25,000 cannot be invested. If you keep that much cash around normally, then it's a good deal.