Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (7) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Next Thread
Author: Vetiver Big gold star, 5000 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 5349  
Subject: 150 Years of Failures Date: 2/8/2013 10:50 AM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 46
Prior to the dropping of the A-bomb on Japan, one of the scientists working on the Manhattan Project pleaded with the US War Department not to do it. He noted that the government had someone following him around lest he reveal the tiniest secret about how to build an A-bomb,… But the biggest nuclear secret there was was not how to build an A-bomb but that one can be built. Once you know that, figuring out the details becomes straight forward.

When I graduated with a Materials Science degree from MIT, the sole discussion of glass that was had in 4 years at MIT was a mention by the crystallography professor that, to him, “an uncrystalized material was like an uncooked piece of meat”. All of what I learned about glass was OJT. Dr. Bocko says that some schools are starting to produce graduates that do know a thing or two about glass but for most of Corning’s history, everyone had to learn about glass on the job. A large part of learning about glass is learning what it can or can’t do and the basics of how to do it.