UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (21) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Next Thread
Author: CeruleanDream Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 308363  
Subject: 1st Post/Newbie starter question Date: 6/19/2002 1:36 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 2
Hi Everybody,

I'm relatively new to TMF. I've only been lurking for about a month. I love it.--Finally, a place where people talk about everyday money issues. If only I'd discovered it sooner!

I've learned a lot so far--there's a large stack of credit cards living in my freezer that I've stopped using--the snowball idea is really helpful-- but now it's time to ask my first question: How do I start figuring out how much to pay myself? I usually pay whatever bills are due and then live on whatever's left over but I'm trying to switch over to the "pay yourself first" idea. Where do I start?

CeruleanDream
Print the post Back To Top
Author: frissy Big funky green star, 20000 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 131151 of 308363
Subject: Re: 1st Post/Newbie starter question Date: 6/19/2002 1:45 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 3
Budget! Budget! Budget!

You need to figure out what your bills typically cost (housing, utilities, car, gas, insurance, food, clothing, entertainment, etc) then figure out how much is going to your debts (student loans, CC's, etc) and see where you can cut back to add to your debt payments.

When I sat down and did my budget, I found that I was bleeding about $150-200 a month eating at places like McDonald's or grabbing something not that great at Circle K. $200 a month! Now that I live closer to where I work, I have a bowl of cereal and save my $2-4/day to go to my credit cards....