UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (6) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Next Thread
Author: Baxter123 Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 82  
Subject: 2-2-3-4-5 Date: 9/1/2008 10:22 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
I was reading The Motley Fool's Guide to Investing and they talked about the 2-2-3-4-5, and the DOW's bottom five. I was wondering if anyone could explain this to me in greater depth and how much would be a good amount to invest in this way. Please keep in mind that I am new to investing with limited amount of money to invest. I probably only have around $1000 for a beginning investment, but I will be adding more in the next couple of months/years.
Print the post Back To Top
Author: StealthFisher Big gold star, 5000 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 70 of 82
Subject: Re: 2-2-3-4-5 Date: 9/1/2008 10:37 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
I haven't read the book in years, but if you're talking about the "Foolish Four" and all that went with it, the Motley Fool abandoned that years ago. If I'm not mistaken, it was back tested and found that it didn't work in all markets. Again, you may not be talking about that practice...you may want to wait for a reply from someone that has read the book recently...just my 2 cents.

J.P.

Author: Baxter123 Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 71 of 82
Subject: Re: 2-2-3-4-5 Date: 9/2/2008 1:20 AM
Recommendations: 1