UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (12) | Ignore Thread Prev | Next
Author: KernelSanders Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 76237  
Subject: 401(k) allocation Date: 1/8/2004 11:11 AM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
Hopefully I'm not beating a dead topic here, but I am preparing to make my first 401(k)contibutions. I'm 26, earn about 45k (i'm a paralegal, and generally supplement my 35k salary with significant overtime, although it is hard to predict the annual compensation ahead of time.)

Luckily, we do have the Vanguard Tot Stock Market fund available, which will likely be the core of my contribution. The other appealling funds are:

Janus Small Cap Value (0.82 ER, 39% turnover)
Legg Mason Value Trust (0.72 ER, 25% turnover)
Columbia Real Estate Equity (0.94 ER, 53% turnover)

we also have a few internationals that I would consider, one called Artisan and another from Templeton.

Basically, I am having a real hard time seeing a 100% index contribution as the "right" move for me. I am fairly new to investing, and brand new to fund investing. These active funds (particularly Legg Mason) have established histories of beating the market, and seem to have relatively low fees. I have read the Foolish articles on index investing over and over and am still not 100% convinced that I should ignore these seemingly great funds at my disposal. I realize that I am in a bit of a unique situation because my firm does happen to offer really great fund options. (in my naive uninformed opinion.) Maybe someone could shed a little light on my clouded mind regarding why I should still stick with the Vanguard index fund (despite my heart telling me to put 50% or so in some of the active funds.)