UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (7) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Next Thread
Author: snash Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 308360  
Subject: 401k Loan to Pay off CC Debt? Date: 12/27/1997 7:59 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
Hi All, I am new to this Foolish world and am looking for advice.

By some coincidence, the amount of my credit card debt roughly equals the amount I can borrow from my 401k.

My credit cards are at about 7%, my wife is good at getting the low interest rates as they come by. The 401k loan interest rate is about 6%. Of course the interest will go to me.

I have heard that this may be a bad idea since I will be losing out on the wonderful stock market gains I could make on that loan amount. But then if one is feeling bearish...

What do the Fools recommend in this situation? The credit card debt is high enough to preclude me from building a cash reserve or do some serious investing.

Any insight is welcome!

Thanks in advance

Steve
Print the post Back To Top
Author: TMF2Aruba Big funky green star, 20000 posts Old School Fool CAPS All Star Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 345 of 308360
Subject: Re: 401k Loan to Pay off CC Debt? Date: 12/28/1997 12:58 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Hey, snash!

While many may disagree with me on this point, I'm not a believer in borrowing from a 401K to pay off cc debt. The 401K, being a retirement account is too precious an asset for the future, and too often unforseen circumstances come around that could cause one to put off making payments to repay the loan. I know of too many people who have borrowed from their 401K's and just never paid back the loan.