The Motley Fool Discussion Boards

Previous Page

Financial Planning / Tax Strategies

URL:  http://boards.fool.com/ltltim-a-new-fool-starting-with-a-uv2-10007290.aspx

Subject:  Re: Capital gains tax for non-US citizen Date:  6/11/1997  10:54 AM
Author:  TMFTaxes Number:  53 of 121096

<<I'm a new Fool starting with a UV2 portfolio soon, and would like to ask a few questions about capital gains taxes concerning non-US residents. My situation is that I'm a foreign student doing a Ph.D program in the US. My country of citizenship, Singapore, offers a lower capital gains tax structure than the US. I return to Singapore once a year, and can easily execute online orders from there. In such a situation can I legally claim potential capital gains to be subject to Singapore taxes rather than US tax
es?
Conversely, if I execute orders from the US, are the capital gains then subject to the US taxes? >>

In generaly, your tax consequences will be based on your residency status. If you are considered a resident alien, you'll be taxed on worldwide income following the same rules as a US citizen. You'll file Form 1040.

If you are a non-resident alien, you'll generally be taxed only on income from sources within the US. Income that IS effectively connected with a trade or business in the US will be taxed at the same graduated rates that apply to all citizens or residents. But income that is NOT effectively connected with a trade or business in the US is taxed at a flat rate of 30% (or a lower tax treaty rate if such a treaty exists). You may be required to file Form 1040NR.