The Motley Fool Discussion Boards

Previous Page

Investing/Strategies / Retirement Investing

URL:  http://boards.fool.com/paulprotus-wrote-ltlti-inadvertently-10096480.aspx

Subject:  Re: 401k over-contribution Date:  2/2/1998  8:23 PM
Author:  Kilmarnoch Number:  1601 of 76237

Paulprotus wrote:
<<I inadvertently contributed 46.00 over the max for 1997. [...] Since the information came late my current firm cannot or will not back it out of 1997. What do I face now with my tax returns and future contributions?>>

TMFPixy wrote:
<<Well, you can't get it back from either plan, so the simplest is to include it in income even though the W2s show it as excluded. Then attach an explanatory note to say why. I'm not a tax expert, though, so you may want to ask this over in the Tax Strategies folder where those beasties reside.>>

Tax expert I am *not*... my take on it is if any 401k plan you contributed to allows corrections you can get the excess back from whichever plans you choose. If none of your plans allow corrections it you simply pay tax on the over contribution twice (once going in and once coming out, but no penalties)...

I would try checking with the plan administrators before giving up...

Lots of luck,
--Kilmarnoch

IRS pub 575 on page 16:
[[**Treatment of excess deferrals.**

If the total you defer is more than the limit for the year, you must include the excess in your gross income for the year. If the plan permits, you can receive the excess amount. Although your employer must report on your Form W-2 the total amount of your elective deferrals, you (not the employer) are responsible to monitor the total you defer to ensure that the deferral limit is not exceeded. As explained below, you must notify the plan if you exceed the limit on excess deferrals.