The Motley Fool Discussion Boards

Previous Page

Financial Planning / Tax Strategies

URL:  http://boards.fool.com/if-you-buy-a-stock-on-day-1-and-sell-at-a-loss-11654281.aspx

Subject:  Re: Wash Rule Question 2... Date:  12/13/1999  8:22 PM
Author:  ptheland Number:  23048 of 121572

If you buy a stock on day 1, and sell at a loss on day 20. Does the wash rule apply?

For the wash sale rules to start kicking in, you generally need two purchases and a sale, a potential loss, and to have some stock left when these are all done. So in your example, wash sales don't apply since all you did was buy and sell.

--ptheland
Copyright 1996-2014 trademark and the "Fool" logo is a trademark of The Motley Fool, Inc. Contact Us