The Motley Fool Discussion Boards

Previous Page

Investing/Strategies / Retirement Investing

URL:  http://boards.fool.com/best-way-to-allocate-500month-14078898.aspx

Subject:  Best way to allocate $500/month? Date:  1/10/2001  2:51 PM
Author:  DropNineteen Number:  27086 of 75890

hi everybody! This is my first post! Yay!

I just finished paying off my credit card debt forever, and would like to get started investing for my eventual retirement, though I am a complete novice. I was wondering if some of the more experienced people here could give me a "sanity check":

1) I'm wondering about how to invest my Roth IRA contributions. Right now I have an underperforming mutual fund in a Roth IRA at a brokerage house, worth about $1500, plus $500 or so in two other taxable and underperforming mutual funds. I'd like to dump the mutual funds and contribute them all to a self-directed Roth IRA making direct investments, to keep costs low.

Since I'm just starting out (23 years old) I don't have a lot of money to invest initially, but I definitely can make the $2000/year contribution to an IRA. I'd really like to contribute to it regularly, once or twice a month, like I've been doing with my underperforming mutual fund (before I stopped to pay off my credit cards!).

I just finished reading "Investing Without a Silver Spoon", and I thought I would try direct investing through an IRA...as I've read on these bulletin boards and confirmed with my own research, this is difficult. Several people have said try First Trust. They charge $48 annually, plus 1% of the account value up to $10,000 (beyond that, the fees drop to .4%, then .3% when you're above $75,000). On my first $2000, I'll be paying $68 to the bank (3.4%)...adding another $2000, I'll be paying $88 (2.2% of a $4000 account). Does that seem reasonable to more experienced people?