The Motley Fool Discussion Boards

Previous Page

Investing/Strategies / Retirement Investing

URL:  http://boards.fool.com/my-best-advice-would-be-start-saving-right-now-17251426.aspx

Subject:  Re: How much should I save? Date:  5/21/2002  3:49 PM
Author:  brwhiz Number:  34584 of 76384

My best advice would be:

Start saving right now, even if it is only a token amount. And put it someplace where it would really, really hurt to take it out before retirement. Then set up a disciplined plan to up the monthly contribution each year, maybe with only an additional $5 increase each time.

The important thing is to START and the next most important thing is to CONTINUE.

In my own sorry case, I did just the opposite. I put off starting. When I did start (usually with an amployer offered plan) I didn't continue. As I moved from employer to employer I cashed out my plan assets to use for new cars, down payment on a house, vacations, etc. When I became self-employed as a consultant, I found myself with gaps between projects. I used my accumulated savings for cruises, vacations, and other forms of temporary "retirement". Now here I am, 9 years away from retirement, fortunately with a very good job and great benefits trying to "catch-up" with where I need to be financially for my retirement goals. Now I'm piling over $35,000 a year into 403(b), 457, Roth IRA, Non-Deductible IRA, and Taxable Account so that I can arrive at the same place I would have been for a few hundred dollars a month for the last 40 years. I don't know of too many people who can afford that level of contribution, so it's best to start early when you can do the whole trip in easy steps.