The Motley Fool Discussion Boards

Previous Page

Financial Planning / Tax Strategies

URL:  http://boards.fool.com/ravings-of-a-tax-slave-vol-1-22039334.aspx

Subject:  Ravings of a tax slave, vol. 1 Date:  2/9/2005  4:05 AM
Author:  ptheland Number:  76468 of 121177

Tax season has hit with a vengance. In case I've not mentioned it yet, I've gone into partnership with the CPA for whom I've been doing per diem work for the last 5 years. Moved into new offices, got my name on the door, and everything. It's all well and good, and I'm looking forward to the expanded practice. But it has added a bit of stress to my life.

So how do I find a way to muck things up quickly? With my usual pre-scheduled appointments, that's how. For several years now, I've given my clients an appointment rather than waiting for them to call and ask for one. There's always a bit of rescheduling, but it's far fewer phone calls than having EVERYONE call and set an appointment. Plus, I schedule lots of people early in tax season to get them in and done. It helps even out the work load - keeping April from being even worse than it usually is.

Anyone who has paid attention to a calendar will know that, except for leap years, February and March look identical. So if you write Tuesday, February 8 on an appointment notice, no one will question if you really meant Tuesday, MARCH 8. Until two people show up at the same time.

I've had a bit of confusion before. But usually people pull out their appointment card, take a look at it, and start apoligizing when they realize that they mis-read the card. But not today. Two appointment cards. Same day and time on each.

And how many times has Peter done this? Technically, we really don't know, as this is only the second week of serious appointments. But I am aware of at least two so far.