The Motley Fool Discussion Boards

Previous Page

Personal Finances / Credit Cards and Consumer Debt

URL:  http://boards.fool.com/hi-i-am-a-lurker-on-this-board-so-am-familiar-with-23173036.aspx

Subject:  Re: OT: Career crisis Date:  10/16/2005  8:40 PM
Author:  swanriverdaisy Number:  212673 of 308232

Hi I am a lurker on this board so am familiar with many of you while my name is new to most of you. This board has been very helpful in making me keep my priorities and finances straight. And help me to live below my means.

For xraymd - I was in a similar circumstance just over 2 years ago. Not an EMR system (I'm a nurse by the way in the workers comp system) but I was in a job where I was being asked to do things that were unreasonable and impossible. The details don't matter. I was under very high stress and keeping very long hours to try to do a good job. I was exhausted and miserable, and I cried at the drop of a hat.

And I left. I left before I had another job. Not something I'd normally do- and have never done before. It was the very best use of my e-fund. Must say it's likely due to this board that I had an e-fund. I had no energy to look for a job while I was there. I was starting to fall apart and simply had to leave

This may sound silly but a few days before I left I had a dream. I dreamt I was driving my car on a glass highway miles above the city. There were no siderails on the highway and I was slowed to an almost-stop afraid I'd drive off the road into space. I was just creeping carefully along so I'd stay on the road. Meanwhile there was someone in a car behind me urging me to go faster. It was pretty clear to me what it meant when I woke up.

Could be you're on the same highway.