The Motley Fool Discussion Boards

Previous Page

Investing/Strategies / Bonds & Fixed Income Investments

URL:  http://boards.fool.com/jack-i-liked-your-post-however-as-a-former-fx-23775135.aspx

Subject:  Re: “The End of Dollar Hegemony” Date:  3/1/2006  3:47 PM
Author:  TheNajdorfDefens Number:  15613 of 35400

Jack, I liked your post, however, as a former FX pro I would take issue with some of your points:

IMHO the prolification of the USD is tied more to our Treasury market and thus our national debt, economic strength and the taxing power supported by that strength. ...
The US treasury market has greater transperancy, greater liquidity, greater deapth and breadth then any other securities market.

Agreed.

BMuch international trade is based on the USD in the form of treasuries, they act more as the currency then direct dollar for Xcurrency exchange then any other vehicle.

No, the FX market does about $2trillion a day in trades, dwarfing the UST market. Very few people buy UST bonds as a substitute for cash. Simply compare the size of the markets.

The Euro, on the other hand, is a confederacy currency. As such the politics behind it our less clean and clear cut; as frightening as that may seem. The faith in the Euro central banks does not compare to the faith the international market has in our central banking system, complete with its warts.

Absolutely.

China remains somewhat xenophobic in its international relations and manages its debt and currency issues accordingly. China and India may be the next nexi of international economic growth but they do not have stability nor do they have equal natural resources of the US. IMHO real long term threats would come from a stable and united: Africa, South America or the former Soviet blocks.

JMHO, I disagree, but that's jmho.