The Motley Fool Discussion Boards

Previous Page

Investing/Strategies / Retirement Investing

Subject:  Re: t.Retirement won't happen for me Date:  8/18/2006  11:39 AM
Author:  ptheland Number:  53230 of 78702

As a preface, I am also a self-employed professional. I have a practice with a couple of employees. I know the problems you face, as I face them as well. Shoot, I even have a son with cerebral palsy. So I know where you are coming from.

However, you've got some serious errors in what you've said. My practice is in accounting - I'm a CPA. So not only do I know where you are from a business perspective, I know the tax laws as well.

Now, to a few specifics.

Small business owners are not allowed to deduct their own healthcare.

That is just wrong. You may deduct 100% of your health insurance. The balance of your personal medical expenses are at least itemized deductions. And if your practice is organized as a C corporation, you can deduct your other medical expenses in the corporation as well. To do that, however, you need to provide a plan to pay for your employees' co-pays and deductibles as well. That may or may not be a worthwhile trade-off - you'd have to run some numbers to make that decision.

I ... offer retirement accounts, flex accounts, continuing education and disability insurance but I am not allowed to have many of those benefits.

Again, that is just wrong. The main barrier to the business owner deducting most of these benefits is that you also have to provide them to your employees. If you're already providing them to your employees, you can deduct them for yourself as well. Your continuing education is deductible no matter what you do for your employees in that regard. I don't recommend deducting the disability insurance. Doing that causes any benefits to be taxable. If you pay for that insurance personally, any benefits you collect are tax-free.