The Motley Fool Discussion Boards

Previous Page

Investing/Strategies / Retirement Investing

URL:  http://boards.fool.com/looking-for-advice-24809067.aspx

Subject:  Looking for Advice Date:  11/10/2006  1:56 PM
Author:  wnypoker Number:  54298 of 75617

Hello,

This is the most appropriate forum I can find for this post. Everything below is related to long term and retirement investing. I am simply going to post some of my thought process with my personal concerns an a comparison to a friends investing strategy that seems to be doing better than mine in the hopes I'll get some interesting feedback.

I've been investing for several years now trying to learn as I go, but following the fool picks for the last 2 years or so. I currently have 19 picks. 18 are fool picks, and I picked up FXI today because I wanted more Asia exposure without risking a pick on an individual stock. I had a bad experience with TOMO, but my CRTP is doing great, so I figured an index to go with them seemed reasonable. It seems to me that when I get to my next pick I'll be at 20 and that may be too many. Without a good reason to sell, is it best to continue to adding more picks or add more money to my existing picks that are doing well? Probably a balance of both. The fool may be doing well overall, but I seem to make the wrong choices and am up only ~5%.