The Motley Fool Discussion Boards

Previous Page

Financial Planning / Tax Strategies

URL:  http://boards.fool.com/thank-you-very-much-you-certainly-know-what-you-26584941.aspx

Subject:  Re: Segmenting Assets to Accelerate Depreciation Date:  4/22/2008  2:14 PM
Author:  ptheland Number:  100520 of 121482

Thank you very much, you certainly know what you are talking about.

Being a tax professional, I try to keep up with things. It helps keep the malpractice lawsuits at bay. ;-)

And now that tax season is finally over, I can wax philosophical again as necessary.

I guess I should have been clearer in asking my question.

OK.

I understand that for a residential rental worth less than $1M, it is not worth the cost and hassle of a cost segregation study.

I agree.

Say you have a SFH worth $500,000, and it's brand new, and you happen to know the costs of some of the assets within the home (carpet, stove, washer, dryer, refrigerator, fence, other 5 & 15 year assets etc...)

OK.

And assume you do your own taxes.

No need to assume that. I really DO do my own taxes. The only problem I have is getting that lousy client to give me some data to work with. ;-)

Would you go through the trouble of separating them out and depreciating them separately?

Me? Probably. Joe six-pack who rents out the house he inherited? Probably not.

There are websites that are free and make it easy to do, I'm wondering why not everyone is using them.

1. Contrary to popular belief on the internet, not everyone is internet savvy. I'd put it at well under half the population that is internet savvy. So those web sites don't help a whole lot of people. BTW, would you have a link to a couple of them? I'm sure folks here would be interested.