The Motley Fool Discussion Boards

Previous Page

Fun & Games / Chess Board of Fury

URL:  http://boards.fool.com/castling-question-27637172.aspx

Subject:  Castling question Date:  4/27/2009  2:39 PM
Author:  jfruhbauer Number:  9184 of 9208

Specifically, the rule against castling across check - was just a little unsure about this specific situation.

basic positions:
Black: Q-e4
White: K-e1, P-e2, R-h1

No other pieces matter - assume the board is empty except for the pieces mentioned above. Is this considered castling across check? King isn't in check, wouldn't move into check or cross against a line of the queen. Rook however is threatened by black queen and it would move across the line of the queen.

Is castling in this situation legal?

Thanks!

Jennifer
Copyright 1996-2014 trademark and the "Fool" logo is a trademark of The Motley Fool, Inc. Contact Us