The Motley Fool Discussion Boards

Previous Page

Financial Planning / Tax Strategies

URL:  http://boards.fool.com/which-ones-they-all-have-their-own-rules-i-27723062.aspx

Subject:  Re: Elective Deferred Compensation Plans Date:  6/3/2009  7:18 PM
Author:  JoshRandall Number:  106201 of 121438

Which one(s)? They all have their own rules.

I thought there were only two kinds of nongovernmental DC plans. Elective, where I put my own money into it (no company contribution) and the other kind where the employer funds it with a promise to pay $x in the future for certain period of time.

Obviously, I'm no expert if there are more than two.

Here is the little that I know:

1. The DC plan, unlike a 401(k)plan, belongs to the company and the money I put in it is at risk if the company liquidates. All I have is a promise to receive these funds. This is what is called a non-qualified plan.
2. Even though the funds belongs to the company, I control the asset allocations and have an accumulated balance in my name only..
3. If I put, say, $25,000 in there each year, in addition to maxing out on a 401(k) with a catch-up contribution, both contributions are pre-tax and reduce my salary.
4. Each year I decide how much to contribute and how I want to receive the funds(Lump Sum or installments)upon retirement or other termination from the company.
5. None of my contributions vest. If they did, I wouldn't get a tax deduction each year.

Here's the question:

If one elects to take a lump sum, are all of the accumulated contributions (plus capital gains) made over several years 100% taxable in the year distributed to me? Or is there some kind of averaging allowed?

Which leads to my second question:
Since the election as to how you wish to receive the funds is made annually, can prior decisions for a lump-sum be changed to installments? (To average the tax bite over several periods assuming that all of it is taxed in the year of receipt under a lump-sum option)