The Motley Fool Discussion Boards

Previous Page

Investing/Strategies / Retirement Investing

URL:  http://boards.fool.com/loaded-funds-ira-29117717.aspx

Subject:  Loaded Funds, IRA Date:  2/19/2011  10:38 PM
Author:  HELJinCT Number:  68490 of 75384

Hello all.

Turning to you once again. I work for investment companies, but I am a technology expert, not an investor. For years I had my 401k on cruise control. Essentially it was in a 401k account that had Fidelity mutual funds within, and I simply spread out my allocation across the 12 or so funds they offers. At 36, I was mostly equity, split between various strategies, with some fixed income as well.

Now, as I am with a new employer with a new 401k account started up, I am rolling my 401k into an IRA with Merrill Lynch. The check has already been cut from my former 401k account and is en route to the new Merrill account. The financial advisor came via recommendation of other co-workers who use him (also not investment experts, but technology experts like myself).

So my new ML advisor sent me a package today of his proposal for my investment plan. So I began skimming through, and I am as green as it gets on this stuff, but my warning lights are going off.

He has me split out between about 8 different funds, and each one seems to have management fees and a load, and deferred fees for leaving within a year, and so on and so forth.

I had been thinking that my money would be mostly in no load generic mutual funds, since I thought those were good enough without the management fees? Another fund in the list seems to only have 3 and 6 month performance numbers, and nothing else. Does this mean it's a brand new fund, am I a guinea pig here?