The Motley Fool Discussion Boards

Previous Page

Fun & Games / Foolish Bridge Players


Subject:  Re: Duped... Date:  8/15/2012  3:18 PM
Author:  eachus Number:  21 of 106

Actually, with West's bid of 2C showing 5 and East holding only 4, the Law of Total Tricks (LOTT) would limit East to 3C. Over 4H, nothing doing.

I don't understand. I see three potential outcomes consistent with the minimum holdings. If four hearts makes, five clubs is a good sacrifice. If four hearts is down two, five clubs may/should make. What if four hearts is down one? Then four hearts was a bad bid, but five clubs down should still beat any heart partial.

So East should bid five clubs not knowing whether it is a sacrifice or making, just like North bid 4 Hearts not knowing whether it would make or not.

I think that may be why your trick worked. West has now seen dummy, and has to figure out why East did not bit 5 Clubs.
Copyright 1996-2018 trademark and the "Fool" logo is a trademark of The Motley Fool, Inc. Contact Us