The Motley Fool Discussion Boards

Previous Page

Retirement Discussions / Retire Early CampFIRE

URL:  http://boards.fool.com/the-100k-challenge-sounds-pretty-awesome-the-30313811.aspx

Subject:  Re: What is your goal in life? Date:  10/11/2012  2:53 PM
Author:  MadCapitalist Number:  648323 of 829391

The 100k challenge sounds pretty awesome. The question I have is are you doing those things every day? The body needs rest so 7 days a week of 270 pushups/situps would wipe you out afer just a few weeks and inviting injury. If it were me, I'd alternate and do 3 days of pushups and 3 days of situps. That works out to 640 per day with one day of complete rest.

decath


I have been doing sit-ups and push-ups every morning and making slow incremental changes. I'm trying to make it sustainable. Don't laugh. I'm a wuss. I was *ridiculously* out of shape when I started exercising every day back in March. I couldn't even do 5 good push-ups!

The rest is 30 seconds between sets.

  Date    Day  Sets  Reps   Sit-Ups      Cumulative       Annual Rate     Sets     Reps     Push-Ups         Cumulative       Annual Rate         Rest (Seconds)            Time (Minutes)
09/18/12 Tue 10 10 100 100 36,500 5 5 25 25 9,125 30 14
09/19/12 Wed 10 10 100 200 36,500 5 5 25 50 9,125 30 14
09/20/12 Thu 10 10 100 300 36,500 5 5 25 75 9,125 30 14
09/21/12 Fri 10 10 100 400 36,500 5 5 25 100 9,125 30 14
09/22/12 Sat 10 10 100 500 36,500 5 5 25 125 9,125 30 14
09/23/12 Sun 10 10 100 600 36,500 5 5 25 150 9,125 30 14
09/24/12 Mon 10 10 100 700 36,500 5 5 25 175 9,125 30 14
09/25/12 Tue 10 10 100 800 36,500 5 5 25 200 9,125 30 13
09/26/12 Wed 10 10 100 900 36,500 5 5 25 225 9,125 30 13
09/27/12 Thu 10 12 120 1,