The Motley Fool Discussion Boards

Previous Page

Sports / Foolish Golf Tips

URL:  http://boards.fool.com/handicap-question-30511175.aspx

Subject:  Handicap question Date:  1/28/2013  3:27 PM
Author:  shuksan77 Number:  8893 of 8937

This may require some handicap geekery...

I just played in a handicapped scramble. On my team were 14, 15, 16, and 1. Playing best ball we also had a team handicap, which was 8. The club pro adds up all the handicaps and divides by 8 to get the team HCP. I think we came in at a net 62: 70 for the scramble less team HCP.

The almost-winning team was the pro, his son, and two others. Their handicaps were 2, 10, 10, and 26 with a team HCP of 6. I think they had a net 54.

The only rules were that each person has to use two drives and two second shots per side.

Now it seems to me this is not even, despite the handicaps. And the reason for this is there are too many non-tee and non-second shots for which the 2 and 10 handicappers can be used. Whereas, for us, the mid-HCP duffers, we didn't have any go-to shooters.

This would be especially true around the greens where the pro (and his son) would have an advantage of experience.

--S
Copyright 1996-2014 trademark and the "Fool" logo is a trademark of The Motley Fool, Inc. Contact Us