The Motley Fool Discussion Boards
Retirement Discussions / Retire Early CampFIRE
|Subject: Re: On second thought, 2828 - Small Cap Issue||Date: 1/29/2013 11:01 AM|
|Author: Art53||Number: 668902 of 757474|
"This got me thinking. I've eaten tilapia on occasion. Even though DW and I are vegan 99% of the time, on special occasions, we will go for some organic, kosher, grassfed, wildcaught etc... meat. For example, I'm going to prepare some wildcaught salmon this Sunday for superbowl for my reward of eating nothing but raw fruits and veggies since New Years day. So your son's belief that tilapia being a 'garbage' fish made me wonder if it was kosher.Most web sites said yes. But this said 'it depends'. http://answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qid=20060823124851AA...... According to http://www.fishbase.org/there are over 30 different species of fish that could be refered to as Tilapia. Of these the FDA reports only 7 are marketed in the USAhttp://www.cfsan.fda.gov/cgi-bin/seafd?Q…
but of course there may be more that the FDA is not aware of. Generally tilapia is thought to be kosher, but with 30 species available, some may not be. If you are able to purchase the whole fish, then you can visually verify that it has both scales and fins. If the fish has already been filleted, then you are on your own. Then there is also the question of whether the store had just filleted a catfish (unkosher) with the same knife and cutting board.There is a helpful general list of which fish are kosher and unkosher that you can check here:
God I'm glad I don't have to worry about all that. I'm glad I wasn't born into a culture where they are so terrified about what they eat. It doesn't matter.
11 "not what goes into the mouth defiles a man, but what comes out of the mouth, this defiles a man."
|Copyright 1996-2014 trademark and the "Fool" logo is a trademark of The Motley Fool, Inc. Contact Us|