Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

No. of Recommendations: 5
Hey folks,

I’m new to the idea of retiring early, and just recently discovered this board (along with the others on this theme). While I’ve fantasized in the past about retiring early, only in the past few weeks has it become less of a fantasy, and more of an idea…an idea which may well evolve further into an actual plan. So I’d like to describe the idea I have, provide some details of my financial circumstances, and see what you guys think.

I’m 47, single, no kids. Salary is about $98K. I’ve been working for the same company for 17 years, and expect to keep working there until I retire early. When I say “retire early,” I mean getting off the day-to-day treadmill of going into the office every day at a full-time job. I don’t actually hate my job or anything, but I’d certainly like it a lot more if I could only do less of it. So what I hope to do is make a transition about 5 years from now (when I’m 52), from full-time salaried status to part-time hourly status (or perhaps to self-employed, independent contractor status). At that point, I hope to work significantly less than half-time (say, 500-800 hours a year).

Here is where things stand financially:

My Current Assets:

Retirement Savings
401K (95% is in stock mutual funds): $154K
ESOP stock (company is employee-owned): $114K
Roth IRA (100% stocks/ETFs): $36K

Nonretirement Savings
Money market/checking: $7K
Stock mutual funds/stocks/ETFs: $79K

Home equity: $125K on home worth about $330K (condo unit in Wash, DC)
Car: 1-year-old Toyota (paid for), which I expect to keep at least 10 more years.

How will things stand 5 years from now, at age 52? Well, my crystal ball is no better than yours, but assuming realistic expectations of future contributions to savings, a conservative return from the stock market, and virtually no increase in home value, I think my assets may look something like this:

Retirement Savings (total): $450K