UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (2) | Ignore Thread Prev | Next
Author: Conehead Big red star, 1000 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 65973  
Subject: A Linux to Mac switcher (Parts I,II) Date: 8/4/2003 1:05 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 24
Parts I & II of my Mac experiences. More over the next couple of days:

Part I : Background

I'm not the typical Mac switcher. I've been using Linux as my primary desktop for three years or so. And I was very comfortable there, I found Linux very stable, very user friendly (once configured), and very configurable.

But there were several core problems: there were some applications that didn't have adequate Linux versions (taxes, personal finance, diagramming, games) and hardware drivers were always a challenge (PCMCIA, wireless, laptop displays, and surprisingly some network cards).

Eventually I started to run into tech-savvy Mac switchers. People that I knew and respected in the UNIX world were starting to carry around Jaguar based laptops. So I started to research Macs. And I liked what I found. So (as documented in this thread, http://boards.fool.com/Message.asp?mid=18588480) I bought an iMac.

Part II : The Honeymoon

The iMac was even better than I expected. The excellent Java, X11, and IMAP implementations made using my iMac for work an easy transition. So I started using my iMac not only for consumer applications, but also as my primary work machine. (Which was more than I expected.)