Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

No. of Recommendations: 0
Hi. I'm a contract programmer (hourly employee), and the company I'm working for has a 401K plan that I'm currently putting 15% in. I plan on maxing out at 10,000 every year. However, the company does not match ANYTHING for hourly employees like me. Also, the 401K plan uses Merril Lynch, and it does not include any index fund. And the other funds they do have stink!

I got a copy of "the letter" that you guys have, and I plan on sending it to my 401K person. But assuming that does no good, what should I do? I plan on consistantly beating the S&P500, and none of their mutual funds (at least the ones in our plan) do not. I know about the tax advantages of the 401K, but considering that my company matches nothing, and the funds all stink, do the tax advantages still outweigh investing all that money after taxes on my own. I make approximately $105k/yr if that matters (as far as taxes are concerned).

Thanks in advance,

Brad
Print the post Back To Top
>> I plan on maxing out at 10,000 every year. However, the company does not match ANYTHING for hourly employees like me. Also, the 401K plan uses Merril Lynch, and it does not include any index fund. And the other funds they do have stink! <<

My sympathies. At least you're probably not paying loads through the corporate 401K. (But you should check on this, by all means.)

>> I plan on consistantly beating the S&P500, and none of their mutual funds (at least the ones in our plan) do not. <<

Well, if they won't change and their funds can't beat the 500, you're out of luck. Companies do have some amount of fiduciary duty to employees with respect to their plans, primarily in making a good faith effort to create a decent plan. Mention it to them, by all means. If they are going with another company because of kickbacks given to them, they may not be fully meeting their fiduciary duty to you.