Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (7) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Next Thread
Author: pkpdjh Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 570  
Subject: A view from a musician Date: 2/17/2006 1:48 AM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 2
I just stumbled on the idea of GTRC as an investment because I am a former professional musician and a fan of the Peter Lynch buy what you know thing. I have always hated GC because it hurt the local guy and so on. But as those of you who hang out in music stores can say, music stores aren't always the most friendly places in the world. They sometimes resemble the record shop in "High Fidelity" where the sales people aren't so much working as hanging out near a bunch of merchandise they like to play with.

I live in the Phoenix area and for a long time, I used to go to the GC near me because they had the inventory, but I always walked out feeling sick because the place was such a wreck and the staff was always a new bunch of new teen-agers. However, recently, the store's staff was completely overhauled with responsible knowledgeable people and I honestly chose to buy my keyboard there because of the service.