UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (32) | Ignore Thread Prev | Next
Author: JJMSpartan Big red star, 1000 posts Old School Fool CAPS All Star Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 749380  
Subject: Re: Antarctica not warming Date: 2/18/2007 10:38 AM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 10
A week ago, I wrote a post over in Pencil's Palace related to another global warming post. It seems that this one falls right in line with the same discussion.
http://boards.fool.com/Message.asp?mid=25160170

Here is one simple question to ask related to global warming - how accurate are historical measurements of the surface temperature of the earth?

As an engineer, I am confronted by the accuracy of measurements every day. In my business, switching from analog calipers to a micrometer to digital calipers to a coordinate measuring machine (CMM) will produce 4 very different results in measuring a part. The latest technology always seems to get better and produce consistently better measurements with less error and variation. We use a process called Gage Repeatability and Reliability (GR&R) to assess the reproducibility of measurements we take to guarantee the error of our equipment as compared to the total tolerance of what we are measuring. Most of these techniques and processes are fairly new, with their start in the last 30 years.