No. of Recommendations: 0
DO you think my current investments looking okay or should I choose some others from the available list. I am 39 and looking to be aggressive. Thanks....Can I upload a pdf here?
Print the post Back To Top
No you cannot upload or attach files to your postings. However, if it is not copyrighted, you can copy it and post the copy.

At 39, you are probably years away from retirement. Fools will usually suggest that you invest almost entirely in equities (until you get within 10 yrs of retirement).

For most people your core investment is an S&P 500 Index fund or a total market funds such as VTI. As your assets grow, people often diversify by adding growth funds, an international fund, a REIT fund, etc. Bonds and fixed income funds are not usually needed until later.
No. of Recommendations: 16
Hi mstrlucky74,

I am also 39 and am perhaps a bit further along the path to FIRE than you; I have been saving and investing fairly aggressively since 1996. But really started to understand the possibility of FIRE in 1999.

Somewhere in the early 2000s I had read enough online and offline (book) material to convince me that the keys to investing are:
- overall asset allocation
- minimizing expenses
- staying the course through thick and thin
- rebalancing

The rebalancing part involves where to add your new investment money when you are accumulating your nest egg. After you retire, it involves which assets to sell. Ultimately you are trying to keep your actual asset allocation in close sync with your desired asset allocation. One other wrinkle is that you should think about the tax consequences of your actions.