Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (10) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Prev | Next | Next Thread
Author: polarg Big gold star, 5000 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 7313  
Subject: Re: Not Impressed Date: 2/27/2005 10:49 AM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0

Also, a store owner in a niche market should realize that people in his niche talk to one another. They belong to clubs. They meet together. They talk on the Internet. Recommendations for or against such establishments bear enormous weight among close-knit (pardon the pun) groups such as crafters.

I'm a small business owner, too, though I sell services rather than products. I've worked in various aspects of the retail and service industries for the better part of ten years. There is not a single company that would have allowed me to do what they have done. Additionally, the store is in a very high income area...the town of Brookline (and Brookline Village in particular) are very affluent...as in, the houses haven't drpped below $500k in over 15 years and these days are generally in the area of $1 mil. It's also a high-foot-traffic area (great for a yarn or craft store) near public transportation, an Orthodox Jewish temple, and two public schools (all very good potential markets).

An imperfect product, just like any broken object, can be written off as a business loss.