Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (8) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Next Thread
Author: nml Big red star, 1000 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 121219  
Subject: Amend or Remember Date: 4/10/2010 2:19 AM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 1
Yeah, I'm to stupid to use TT...and tired too...but I need some guidance, so thanks in advance to any who try to help me..

Background...

I've been carrying Long Term Capital Losses forward for about 8 years (thanks to the 2000-2001 market and my poor investing/trading skills)....this year I made a couple of trades that qualified for short term losses....recorded them in Schedule D and went on....

Somehow I didn't record my previous Long Term Carry Over Losses...I missed the darn blank....I know, I should have been smart enough to print the darn preliminary, look over it and compare to previous years.. BEFORE I submitted it, but I wasn't.

There was a place in TT that asked me if I wanted to print the preliminary, but then followed that up with the suggestion that I didn't need to...So, I went on and filed....(all laughing accepted at this point, I feel bad enough already)..Anyway...

(AFTER I e-filed tonight)... I start looking over the printout/pdf of my return....when I get to the 'Capital Loss Carryover Worksheet..(that fills in the Schedule D) I see I've lost all my 'Long Term Capital loss carryover to 2010'.

In other words, my sheet now says I have no more Long Term Capital Losses..the only Loss I get to carry over to 2010 is the short term losses from the above trades...

I know I should have been more timely and obviously more careful with my return, but what's done is done......