UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (3) | Ignore Thread Prev | Next
Author: Mardee1000 Two stars, 250 posts Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 176810  
Subject: An Open Letter to all Fools Posting Here Date: 9/14/2001 10:38 AM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 93
I'm fairly new to the Motley Fool and investing, and have been slowly taking in everything I've read over the last month. Since the tragedy, I figured I'd stay away for a bit, since no one would be posting messages about stocks at this time. And that's what the Fool is all about, right? Wrong -- I stopped back on Tuesday, and couldn't believe my eyes. I found hundreds of messages of support from the members of these boards -- messages of hope and inspiration from a caring, intelligent group of people.

Since then, I've been reading as many posts as I can, and wanted to take a minute to tell you how amazing I think all of you are.

I've read messages from people telling of their pain and suffering -- people who have lost loved ones, and those who have suffered from watching their cities attacked. I've read about folks wanting to share stories of hope and faith; and some just wanting to talk -- to anyone -- about this horrendous tragedy.

I've been hearing about the many ways to donate -- whether it be money, blood or supplies. I've learned about people who plan on donating tax refund checks, the money they would normally spend on Drips that month, and even gains from stocks for the next year, to support the efforts of rescuers and help the victims' families. I've been informed of vigils being held, and ways to outwardly show our support for America. I've even been told of ways to help out the economy by not showing signs of panic when the market does open.