UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (18) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Next Thread
Author: JOETAB24 Big red star, 1000 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 74759  
Subject: Any Advice? Date: 1/11/2005 4:26 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
My current financial situation.
Combined Income: 2937.82 monthly after taxes

1/10
Checking(0%)- 940.71
Money Market (.35%)- 28,129.10

Investments
403b (OPTFX/100$ per month/3.5% of after tax income)- 98.24 (as of 1/7)

Debts
Discover- 115.81
Car Loan- 12933.10 (1.9%/60 mos.)

Goals
considering establishing Roth IRA ASAP
would like to increase % in 403 b (just started)

FYI
wife will stop working in June. will stay home to raise new baby.our income will decrease $840.
-I am a teacher so my pay will increase next Sept. (by 4%? contract is up).
-When I earn my masters, I will get close to an additional $5000 increase. I currently have 18 credits and need 33. I will "max out" in 11 years at 85K (in today's dollars)
-we are in a "starter home." bought in 02 for 90K. It would probably go for 127-130 K today. our current school district is mediocre but has a good repuation. we are on the finge of the city and concerned about the neighborhood going down rapidly; some parts already have. I would like to sell but know we cannot at this point.

Questions
I am considering paying off the car and using the $266 from the car to start paying down the house. Is this the best way to use the inheritance? What other options do I have, considering all of the factors and the new baby? Thanks for reading.

Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Print the post Back To Top
Author: Crosenfield Big gold star, 5000 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 43974 of 74759