UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (10) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Next Thread
Author: fredericch Big red star, 1000 posts Old School Fool CAPS All Star Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 10373  
Subject: archiving old data Date: 5/19/2006 11:06 AM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
I'm wondering if anyone out there who has used Quicken for many years has found it getting slower. I have been using Quicken for 5 years, and am afraid that the data file is just getting too big. I would like to keep bank transactions for the past two complete years, in order to have some idea of the evolution of my home finances, but there are so many closed accounts that I'm hiding, I'm afraid that the program is not performing well. Recently, it's been aborting more frequently. Even though I'm not losing data, it makes me nervous!

Of course, I want to keep my investment transactions from the beginning, in order to have correct cost bases. Is there a way to selectively archive data and reduce the data file size?

Fredericch
Print the post Back To Top
Author: Donna405 Big gold star, 5000 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 7398 of 10373
Subject: Re: archiving old data Date: 5/19/2006 8:13 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
When I archived mine, it did not touch my investment files.

Donna

Author: drome Three stars, 500 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 7399 of 10373
Subject: Re: archiving old data Date: 5/19/2006 8:36 PM
I'm wondering if anyone out there who has used Quicken for many years has found it getting slower