Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (10) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Next Thread
Author: OpenToAdviceGuy Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 25265  
Subject: Armchair advisors: Review my 401k Date: 11/13/2002 1:14 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
Ok, I'm a newbie (26 yrs. old). I had my parents advisor review my 401k and she says leave it alone. But, since she's about 70 and my parents are as well, I thought I'd let some of you folks give me your 2 cents:

Here's the scoop:

I've been a good boy so far, I contribute 20% and my company matches up to 6%. Being young I thought I might get more aggressive, especially now. Long-term I'll become more moderate. Anyway, it's through Fidelity and here's the breakdown:

Current Allocations:

Fidelity Aggr Growth - 3%
Fidelity Blue Chip - 23%
Spartan US Equity Index - 25%
Fidelity Intl Grth & Inc - 19%
Fidelity Balanced - 31%

Current balance: $24,000

Other fund choices available to me:

Fidelity OTC Port
Fidelity Low PR Stk
Fidelity Divers Intl
Fidelity US BND Index
Fidelity MGD INC PORT

Any suggestions are greatly appreciated....
Print the post Back To Top
Author: MarleysGhost Three stars, 500 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 15533 of 25265
Subject: Re: Armchair advisors: Review my 401k Date: 11/13/2002 1:19 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll Report this Post | Recommend it!
Hey, it looks good to me. There's nothing in your available choices that I'd add yet. Add some Bond index in about 15 years or so.

Author: pauleckler Big funky green star, 20000 posts Top Favorite Fools Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 15534 of 25265
Subject: Re: Armchair advisors: Review my 401k Date: 11/13/2002 1:51 PM