Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (4) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Prev | Next | Next Thread
Author: jcmn One star, 50 posts Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 121598  
Subject: Re: Has Accounting lost its way? Date: 1/18/2002 3:48 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 1
As an outsider, it seems to me that the accounting profession is suffering because the assembly-line tax services that have become very popular in recent years. These services, mostly bank on speed vs accurracy. Preparers are very rarely accountants and rarely trained in accounting. When I worked as a preparer, (after 2 hrs of "training") I was amazed at the large numbers of people that were more concerned with "How fast I can get my money" rather than having an accurate return with a view toward reducing next year's tax liablity. I offered some advice when it was obvious, but it they were rarely interested. I even occasionally tried to talk them out of the outrageously priced "Fast refund" route, but was rarely successful.

It seems that today's most precious commodity for most people is time. These "speed tax" services take this to the extreme and it seems to me, are making a killing doing it. The service provided by accountants suffers because of pressure to compete with the "speed tax" services. There is no longer time to reflect on one particular customer's return for too long. The pressure is also put on by accounting firm customers that see the endless "speed tax" ads promising returns prepared while you wait and refunds within 2 days and compare it to an accountant's much slower (and hopefully accurate) process.