I've posted on this topic before but got no response, so I'd try again with a little additional observation.I've noticed when using Back to My Mac (BTMM) to log into my MBP (left in my office at work) from my Mac mini at home, I get presented with a dialog box asking for a username and password and with the options to use my Apple ID and to remember my password. When I use BTMM in the other direction, however, it logs me in automatically without a dialog box.I'd like to have the option of getting that dialog box back, for reasons I mentioned earlier (i.e. having that extra layer of security). I'm guessing that I must have checked the box on my MBP to remember my password. When I look through my Keychain for likely suspects, I find only a set of BTMM keychains that, after I delete them, do not restore the dialog box when I try BTMM. Instead, the keychains get restored.I'm thinking of turning off iCloud on my MBP and then turning it back on, but when I do, I get additional dialog boxes warning me about contacts, calendars, and other things that can be deleted from my MBP if I do so (with options to retain copies on the MBP). It's enough warnings to give me pause. It's a lot of data to re-sync, and my faith in iCloud to handle things without serious glitches is neither blind nor infinite. I'm concerned about both lost data as well as duplicates when I re-sync, with lost data being more serious.So, before I do so, does anyone have an idea for a less drastic way to restore that username and password dialog box? Some keychain or other that I may be missing? Or, has anyone turned off and then turned back on iCloud on a Mac, with or without glitches?-awlabrador
Best Of |
Favorites & Replies |
Start a New Board |
My Fool |
BATS data provided in real-time. NYSE, NASDAQ and NYSEMKT data delayed 15 minutes.
Real-Time prices provided by BATS. Market data provided by Interactive Data.
Company fundamental data provided by Morningstar. Earnings Estimates, Analyst