UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (68) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Next Thread
Author: sumap10 Three stars, 500 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 35400  
Subject: Balancing portfolio Date: 7/22/2007 8:48 AM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
I'm one of those who have mostly stocks and mutual funds. I know I need to put more in fixed income, but I look at the return on bonds, and I just can't bring myself to do it. I have quite a bit in CD's, I-bonds and money markets. I'm semi-retired and have enough money to retire on. Does it make sense to just stay in CD's and money markets? I've been avoiding this issue for at least 10 years. I got hit very hard in 2000 so am very aware of the risk I'm running, especially at this point in my life.
Any advice for someone with a mental block about bonds?

Sumap
Print the post Back To Top
Author: ngcpa Big red star, 1000 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 21048 of 35400
Subject: Re: Balancing portfolio Date: 7/22/2007 9:52 AM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll Report this Post | Recommend it!
Sumap:
I don't see any problem with staying mostly in CD's and money markets. That is what I do. However, I do own some individual muni's. I am not a fan of bond funds. I also have been buying 6-mo treasuries and rolling them over for the past year ot two. They have been paying about 5% and the with avoiding the state tax, that makes it equivalent to about 5.375% in the state of Maryland. You might want to consider some of them.
Norm

Author: Bobcatkitty Three stars, 500 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 21049 of 35400
Subject: Re: Balancing portfolio Date: 7/22/2007 12:16 PM