Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (2) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Prev | Next | Next Thread
Author: LaughingRaven Big red star, 1000 posts Old School Fool CAPS All Star Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 252  
Subject: Benefit of CPA Obtaining MBA? Date: 11/8/2007 4:59 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
[I'm kind of thinking out loud here, but feel free to chime in.]

As you may have culled from my previous posts, I got my Bachelor's degree in 2004, then not long after went to work for a Big Four firm. I got certified in August 2006, and in May 2007 I left public accountancy to be a budget analyst at a hospital. I've been thinking about further education, but I'm not sure if it's worth the cost. Private and out-of-state schools run about $600 per credit, and State U doesn't seem to have anything that would improve my skills or career prospects.

I'm not sold on a regular MBA, as they seem a little too general for my needs, and I'm not sure if I'd really learn anything useful. That probably sounds arrogant, but if I'm spending $10-20K, I'd like a real learning experience, not just a piece of paper. I got my BBA from State U, and from what I understand, most of their MBA classes are just rehashed versions of upper-level BBA classes I've already taken.

A nearby private university has an MBA specific to healthcare, so that would provide some industry-specific insight. It's a bit pricey, but it sounds like a good fit if I plan to stay in the industry long-term (I'd like to, but I've only been here six months, so it's not really fair to assess that yet).