UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (11) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Prev | Next | Next Thread
Author: ltcomdata One star, 50 posts Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 308413  
Subject: best payment method Date: 11/16/2000 10:01 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
Hello...

I am a student and get minimal financial aid... So I guess I have been using credit cards a lot to meet those tuition hikes... I, however, am proud to say that over the course of 5.5 years of school, only owe about $5,000.00---which is less than the average student owes after about the same amount of time. Now the bad news... The debt is distrubuted over NOT 1, NOT 2, NOT EVEN 3, BUT 4 CREDIT CARDS with varying interest rates ranging from 14% to 21%. Needless to say the card at 14% is maxed out except for 100, which I am afraid to use up in fear that I might look desperate to my creditors :-). I also have a 5th card with a $200.00 limit that I use from day to day but which I pay in full at the end of the month... I know, I am trying not to use it as much, but I find that IF I use it and pay in full at the end of the month, that I get some extra money "float" in my interest bearing checking account... Basically, I see this card as an interest free loan which I use to get interest at my bank (the revenge of the consumer!! lol)...

Anyway, I was wondering what would be the best method for payment... What is this snowball method of payment that I hear so much about in this board?

I devised a method of payment that I think is sound, please let me know what you think of it... It is based on the assumption that I want to minimize, NOT the interest that I get charged, but the total amount of money that I get charged by all the credit cards combined... I devised my plan based in the follwoing scenario: