Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif
No. of Recommendations: 1
Black: Q-e4
White: K-e1, P-e2, R-a1

Now castling goes through the Q's attack on b1. I know this is a legal move to make. What I'm not certain of is whether the Q can then move to b1 and take the rook similar to en passent

No. Taking a pawn en passant (French for "in passing") applies only to pawns, and is a historical adjustment to allowing pawns to move 2 squares on their first move.

Suppose a black pawn is on d4. If White moves a pawn from c2 to c4, on the immediately following half move, Black may capture the pawn on c4 en passant by moving the black pawn from d4 to c3, capturing exactly as if the white pawn had advanced only one square. If Black does not do this on the very next half move, the opportunity is lost. Only pawns can be captured en passant, only pawns on the fifth rank can make en passant captures, and en passant captures can only take place immediately after the pawn to be captured has advanced 2 squares.

Print the post  


When Life Gives You Lemons
We all have had hardships and made poor decisions. The important thing is how we respond and grow. Read the story of a Fool who started from nothing, and looks to gain everything.
Contact Us
Contact Customer Service and other Fool departments here.
Work for Fools?
Winner of the Washingtonian great places to work, and Glassdoor #1 Company to Work For 2015! Have access to all of TMF's online and email products for FREE, and be paid for your contributions to TMF! Click the link and start your Fool career.