UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (4) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Next Thread
Author: rasorl Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 266191  
Subject: Books for a beginner ?? Date: 1/20/2013 8:08 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
Hi Fools,

I am just getting started into this world of investing and am considering purchasing the following two books:

The Strategic Dividend Investor - Daniel Peris; Hardcover
Asset Allocation, 4th Ed - Roger Gibson; Hardcover

I'd appreciate any thoughts on these selections.

Foolishly yours,
rasorl
Print the post Back To Top
Author: CABob Big gold star, 5000 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 260364 of 266191
Subject: Re: Books for a beginner ?? Date: 1/20/2013 10:57 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
The Strategic Dividend Investor - Daniel Peris; Hardcover

I am not familiar with this one.

Asset Allocation, 4th Ed - Roger Gibson; Hardcover

Very good book.

I am inclined to think both of these may not be the best choices for a beginner although it depends on your specific interests and level of knowledge.
I would suggest one of Eric Tyson's books especially those in the "Dummies" series.
http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_ss_c_0_10?url=search-alias...
This list may provide some more ideas. http://www.bobbrinker.com/books.asp

Bob

Author: Quillnpenn Big gold star, 5000 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 260365 of 266191
Subject: Re: Books for a beginner ?? Date: 1/21/2013 12:24 AM
Recommendations: 1
More books to peruse through

http://www.swing-trade-stocks.com/store.html

Quillnpenn -