Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (14) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Next Thread
Author: Crusadah Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 27416  
Subject: Brand New Date: 8/1/2005 12:34 AM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
I'm a recent college grad and want to start building some wealth and invest what money I do have (before it's too late). I've done some initial research, but I was curious if anybody has any advice. I'm starting with about $500. Is that enough, or should I just save some more? And what is the best initial investment. Any advice would be great. Thanks.
Print the post Back To Top
Author: lilbrownjon One star, 50 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 10666 of 27416
Subject: Re: Brand New Date: 8/1/2005 3:43 AM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Hi Crusadah,

I'm pretty much in the same boat as you are - recent college grad (well somewhat; I've been out of school for 1.5 years), and getting into investing for the first time. What got me started is the very book that led me to these boards. It's called "You Have More Than You Think" by the Gardners. It covers the absolute basics, and a great stock market primer.

-Jon

Author: SarahGiani One star, 50 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 10668 of 27416
Subject: Re: Brand New Date: 8/1/2005 4:51 AM
While reading and soaking in all the new knowledge, I suggest putting away your money in SOMETHING to start getting some for of return. You could do an ING direct for 3.15% or maybe even an index fund for a little more.

Good luck,
SarahGiani