Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (9) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Next Thread
Author: skywatch10 Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 25  
Subject: Brazil Date: 1/16/2008 6:07 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
I am very interested in investing in Brazil, but there is no one on this board.
What is the "Real?" Thank you,
Print the post Back To Top
Author: PTRio CAPS All Star Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 13 of 25
Subject: Re: Brazil Date: 1/17/2008 4:11 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
The Real is the name of the Brasilian currency. Pronounced "hay-all" for one, "hay-ize" for plural.

I live in Rio de Janeiro. I have been investing in Brasil for a couple years now. I would be happy to help answer any questions you have about Brasil or Brasilian investments.

Author: wolfdaddy33 Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 14 of 25
Subject: Re: Brazil Date: 1/18/2008 3:51 PM
I Picked up EWZ a couple months ago and have watched it trade up and down for a while. It has had a good track record for it's 3 year return ( 56.39% ) The financial sector makes up 16.4% of the fund, and I think this has weighed heavily on it. I am set to hold my position for the next year.

Author: PTRio CAPS All Star Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 15 of 25
Subject: Re: Brazil Date: 1/18/2008 4:37 PM
Unlike the US, the financial sector in Brasil is doing well. With consumers spending money, and banks now lending money, this sector has been a positive one for EWZ and should continue to be in 2008.