Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (3) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Next Thread
Author: jimmys3000gt One star, 50 posts Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 212835  
Subject: BRK's Income Statement Date: 1/29/2002 10:12 AM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 1
Taking the advice of another board member to just ask my question, I am
going to ask some questions regarding BRK's financial statements which,
to me, are very different from 99% of the other Income statements I have
seen.  Needless to say, I'm a novice to the insurance sector.

Would someone explain what each of the following line items mean? 
Numbers are from 2000 annual report.  Thanks!

Consolidated Statement of Earnings:

Insurance losses and loss adjustment expenses.....17,332
Insurance underwriting expenses................... 3,606
Minority interest.................................   241

Consolidated Balance Sheets:

Losses and loss adjustment expense................33,022
Unearned premiums................................. 3,885
Income taxes, principally deferred................10,125  (Why so much deferred income taxes??)
Minority shareholders' interests.................. 1,269

Cash Flow Statment:

Finance business trading activities...............(1,126)
Print the post Back To Top
Author: jmls Big gold star, 5000 posts Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 59672 of 212835
Subject: Re: BRK's Income Statement Date: 1/29/2002 1:12 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 7
Dear jimmy,

I'm a Berkshire fan, but unfortunately this company does have somewhat convoluted financial statements. There are definitely simpler companies to study (e.g. just about any retailer's statements are more straightforward).

Anyways, here goes: