Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (4) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Next Thread
Author: dapowell Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 121144  
Subject: Can my LLC pay me per diem? Date: 2/19/2001 4:20 AM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
This is a repost.

This year I started a LLC in PA.
I am a Pa resident.
I spent almost all of my time traveling away from home.
Can I fill out an expense report and submit it to my company specifying the maximum amount as specified in form 1542?

http://www.irs.gov/prod/forms_pubs/pubs/p1542toc.htm

Thanks,
Dave
Print the post Back To Top
Author: JFour Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 47062 of 121144
Subject: Re: Can my LLC pay me per diem? Date: 2/23/2001 7:19 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
This year I started a LLC in PA.
I am a Pa resident.
I spent almost all of my time traveling away from home.
Can I fill out an expense report and submit it to my company specifying the maximum amount as specified in form 1542?

dapowell

Prior to October 1, 2000 you were note allowed to use the per diem substantiation method for your travel expenses at all, due to the related party rule (ownership of greater than or equal to 10% of the payor).

After 10/01/2000, you are allowed to use the per diem method for meals and incidental expenses only (not lodging expenses).

See the Rev Proc 2000-9 for the rules from 1/1/2000 through 9/30/2000, and Rev Proc 2000-39 for after 10/01/2000. You may find these on the IRS website (sorry, I don't have that address handy to post here).

You must subtantiate your travel expenses by means of a log and by receipts; estimates are not allowed after 1984.

Sorry 'bout the bad news.

Jim