UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (4) | Ignore Thread Prev | Next
Author: bether One star, 50 posts Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 76421  
Subject: Can someone help, please? Date: 10/12/1999 3:04 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
I'm new to Fooldom, and have learned a lot in recent weeks jumping around this site.

As I'm trying to get my finances aligned with some of the strategies I'm reading about, I'm confused as to whether or not to convert my traditional IRA account to a Roth IRA.

I'm 29 yrs. old, and my old (traditional) IRA has about 19K in it. I've tried to use the calculator at:

http://www.calcbuilder.com/cgi-bin/calcs/IRA2.cgi/themotleyfool

but am confused on most of the questions, so I don't think I'm doing it properly.

But, logically, since I have about 30 years until retirement, it would seem that if I rolled over the 19K traditional IRA into the Roth, I'd be way ahead in $$ when I retire.

1) Is my assumption correct (ahead of the game with Roth?)
2) Can I still withdraw the amount I "roll over" for educational purposes for my son's college without penalty. (I know that the contributions themselves toward Roth can be withdrawn for this)
3) What fees/taxes can I expect to incur for this roll -over? Just taxes or taxes + a penalty?
4) Is there a way to pay the fees/taxes using funds from the IRA itself, or does it need to be cash?

Thanks for your help! I'd be happy to answer any other relevant questions if you wouldn't mind assisting me.

Learning to be Foolish-
Beth
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll Report this Post | Recommend it!
Print the post  
UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (4) | Ignore Thread Prev | Next

Announcements

The Retire Early Home Page
Discussion on accelerating retirement day.
Foolanthropy 2014!