Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (2) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Next Thread
Author: deepdude Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 121061  
Subject: Capital gains Date: 4/10/1998 3:45 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
I am a novice investor with some capital gains in yr. '97. I wanted to know how this gain is calculated. I think it would be easier if I pose my question with an example. Assume all transactions took place in the same year.

- Bought 50 shares @ $1.00 per share in April

- Bought 100 shares @ 1.50 per share in June

- Sold 25 shares @ 2.00 per share in August

What is my capital gain ? Basically the question is that when a sell some shares in a year - how is it determined what price I bought them at - hence what is the actual gain ?

I am only trying to understand how the actual gain is calculated i.e. how much money do I pay capital gains tax on ? Tax rates and the changes are irrelevant to my question so please ignore the timeline and the change in tax rates. Thanks !
Print the post Back To Top
Author: synchronicity Big funky green star, 20000 posts Top Favorite Fools Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 3394 of 121061
Subject: Re: Capital gains Date: 4/10/1998 4:28 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
<<- Bought 50 shares @ $1.00 per share in April

- Bought 100 shares @ 1.50 per share in June

- Sold 25 shares @ 2.00 per share in August

What is my capital gain ? Basically the question is that when a sell some shares in a year - how is it
determined what price I bought them at - hence what is the actual gain ?>>