Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (9) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Next Thread
Author: liquidwindows One star, 50 posts Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 19483  
Subject: capital gains on IRA accounts Date: 5/18/2001 5:23 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
If I realize current gains (about 3600%) on the stocks in my IRA will I be charged capital gains tax even though the IRA is supposed to be tax free? I'm new at this, I really think it's time to sell the long positions I'm holding, but I'm scared to death I'll be hit with a big bill.
Print the post Back To Top
Author: fooldaveonce One star, 50 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 6733 of 19483
Subject: Re: capital gains on IRA accounts Date: 5/18/2001 7:06 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 1
My understanding is that income taxes on IRAs are not paid until the funds are withdrawn. How the money got there does not matter (capital gains, employer contributions, pre-tax investment, dividends, etc.). The downside is the taxes are paid at regular income levels with no credit for long-term gains.

Author: popyee Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 6737 of 19483
Subject: Re: capital gains on IRA accounts Date: 5/19/2001 10:44 AM
IRA's proceeds are taxed as ordinary income not capital gains. If you have a Roth IRA you pay no tax after age 59.5.

Ron

Author: gurdison Big gold star, 5000 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 6738 of 19483
Subject: Re: capital gains on IRA accounts Date: 5/19/2001 1:07 PM